The Post House has an historical ambiance that makes it unique from other banquet facilities. Near the turn of the century, the federal government deemed it necessary to obtain land on which to later construct a large federal building for the post office. The lot chosen was on the corner of West Second Street and South Galena Avenue across the avenue from the Lee County Court House and directly next to the the Nachusa House. The construction project commenced in August 1909, while B. F. Shaw was postmaster. It took nineteen months and $90,000 to complete the building. The original building was constructed of Bedford stone, marble, granite, steel and terrazzo. On March 11, 1911, the post office finally opened with thousands of citizens in attendance. When it opened, William L. Frye was the postmaster, as Shaw had died shortly after the groundbreaking.